top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrian Vollner

Finally, some genuine feedback

I've been meaning to write this for a while, but I was too busy actually working with the feedback I was given.


If you've been reading this blog, you know how things have grown, and you know how desperately I've wanted to get in touch with someone, anyone, from Stop The Bleed, the DHS, the Red Cross, or anybody who could help make this a bit more of a reality. In hindsight, I think I really underestimated the snarling quagmire that is our contemporary American governmental bureaucracy. Especially when the perfect person to ask was there the whole time.



Back home in Cincinnati, my parents' neighbor, Susan, is a flight nurse for the University of Cincinnati's Air Care Unit. She has over 30 years experience in nursing, and 25 of those years are in Emergency Medicine with 18 of them as a Flight nurse. If the world goes sideways on you, Susan is exactly who you want to be at your side.





She and her colleague, Sierra (an Emergency Medicine Resident and Fellow at UC's School of Medicine), were gracious enough to have a long chat with me one night. They were a wealth of insight, but, by far, the biggest takeaway from our conversation was how I might introduce CPR into my work. It was obvious that the back page of the placard had enough room to include it, but where to include it on the mobile site? It's one thing to tell someone when to do CPR, visualizing it proved to be much more difficult. I also chose to include Hands-Only CPR vs traditional CPR (with rescue breathing). My rationale was that rescue breathing is more complex and requires more sophisticated training. Hands-Only CPR is more quickly learned, more novice-friendly, and much easier to illustrate.


Where I landed was to create a new icon on the mobile site, so at any point, you have access to CPR instructions without losing where you are on the rest of the site. That way, you can go back and forth as needed. The only thing I haven't tied in is how to notify CPR has been started to the first responders. But I think the inclusion of CPR is a huge step forward for this project.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CODING AND COPY

One of my first classes at MCAD was in Web Development, and it was one of my favorites. I forgot how much I enjoyed it, but I have...

Reflecting on things

I think this Capstone project is a representative summation of the things that I have learned through MCAD. STEPS encompasses so many...

Comments


bottom of page